+212 535573801  +212 535573150        


The Drâa-Tafilalet region was established under Decree n°2.15.10 of February 20th, 2015, establishing the number of regions in the kingdom, their names, their capitals and the provinces that compose them. It was established as part of the implementation of the Advanced regionalizationadopted by the Moroccan Constitution of 2011.This new regional division, lead to the emergence ofDraaTafilalet, the largest border region of Morocco.
Its historical weight, its natural resources, its strategic geographical location and the adaptability of its human resources, are essential elements of its wealth. During the medieval period, Sijilmassa was the global stock of caravan trade. At its peak, this city of 100,000 inhabitants estimated by historians, had great influence. Commercial documents circulated in Persia and sub-Saharan Africa at that time.
Moulay Ali Cherif chose an adjacent area to Sijilmassa to develop knowledge and science. He is considered the founding father of the Alaouite dynastyestablished since 1650. Tafilalet and Draahave indeed played an important role in the history of Morocco.
Currently, its economy is structured around 3 levels of wealth. Agriculture, Energy and Mines, and finally Tourism, Art and the Cultural Industry. Each has its own specificities. Theselevels also have common points that links them, allowing the emergence of a circular economy for the benefit of the population the region. Human resources are a force of traction in this economy. In short, DraaTafilalet is an inspirational example in many ways.
However, the problems inhibiting the development of this potential are inherent to natural and economic issues, including weaknesses in the hosting infrastructure and connectivity, spatial disparities, and the fragility of the ecosystems of the environment of this territory.
Under the impetus of the advancedregionalization, and taking into account the expectations and capabilities in resources, the strategic development choices are based on a logic of strengthening the attractiveness and competitiveness. These choices aim for the creation of a climate conducive to the development and economic recovery of the region of DraaTafilalet, allowing it to raise its level of development and reposition it in the spheres of the national wealth.

Administratively, Draa-Tafilalet region consists of:
5 provinces: Errachidia(Capital), Ouarzazate, Zagora, Midelt and Tinghir;;
125 territorial authorities: 16 urban and 109rural..
It covers an area of 128 500 Km², which is 12.5% of the national territory. It has administrative borders with:
The Fez-Meknes regionstothe northern;
The Oriental regionto the Northeast
The Marrakech-Safi and Beni Mellal-Khenifraregions to the West
The Souss-Massa region to the Southwest
Algeria to the East and South.

The oasis local authorities occupy 78.290 km². The oases of Draa and Tafilalet owe their existence to the High and Anti-Atlas Mountainsby which they are bordered. These mountains, which culminate in the 4071-mhigh M’goun mountain, stand as a long wall, facing the desert and providingwater resources and climatic conditionsto the oases of the region allowing them to maintain an intermediate bioclimate and therefore to be a space of transition towards the great Sahara.

From a demographic point of view, the region of Draa-Tafilalet accounts for 1.635.008 inhabitants, which is 4.8% of the total population of the country. The average annual population growth rate is 0.91while at the national level it is of the order of 1.25. With18, 5 inhabitants per Km², Draa-Tafilalet is the second least dense region of the kingdom. The urban population of the region is 560.738, representing 34.2% of its total population. 60% of the population of the region is situated in the age range of 15 to 60 years.